Changing Thoughts….

Reading, blogging, and commenting takes time- way more than I care to admit.   In addition to working for this class, my co-counselor S and I are putting more effort on our on-line presence.  Looks good, but it takes me about 3 days for one blog entry start to finish.  Too slow.  I started this post on September 15th, and here I am 5 days later.

Read Bloom’s taxonomy digitally. I suppose we are to think about this in relation to students’ learning in our classrooms.  Honestly, I wasn’t thinking about the students at all when I was reading the article.  I was only thinking about myself.  How do I fit into this taxonomy?  How am I doing as a learner?   Taking the COETAIL course is my attempt to progress from lower order thinking skills like understanding to higher order thinking skill of creating.  I have always wanted to share my voice, and here is my opportunity to learn.

Initial overwhelmed feeling with this course is gone now.  After attending the weekend workshop on  becoming a networked educator, I feel energized and more connected to the wealth of knowledge out there.  My learning community keeps on getting bigger and bigger.

About Naho Kikuchi

Elementary school counselor at The American School in Japan. Living and working in West Tokyo since 1997. Forever trying to figure out how to balance work, family and time for myself.
This entry was posted in COETAIL. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changing Thoughts….

  1. Zoe Page says:

    Hey Naho,
    I agree it all takes aloooooong time. This time last year I would sit for hours and produce something. I came to realise:
    You get better with practice
    It really makes you think on a deeper level about your practice
    It is really good to share the load, now I link in on other peoples post (giving them credit, of course)
    keep it simple and short, people rarely take the time to read really long things!
    Sometimes you are reaching more people than you will ever know…
    Lastly feedback, once in a while you get great feedback and it makes it all worth while.

  2. Hiromi Hosoi says:

    Thank you for sharing your honest feeling. Blogging and commenting really takes time, as you can see that I am commenting your post now.
    One month has passed since your post, have you thought about your students’ learning? How your students fit into Bloom’s taxonomy digitally?

Leave a Reply

