Empowering Parents

Last Friday, we held Elementary School Parent Focus Group on Technology @ASIJ and Responsible Cyber Citizenship.  (How do I link a power point to a blog post?)  Thank you Steve for making this Power Point presentation.

In preparation for that presentation, I tweeted out to see if others’ had a recommendation for a video to show parents about 21st Century Learning.  In the end we didn’t use those, but here they are:

Learning to Change, Changing to Learn:

Introduction to Technology and 21st Century Learning:

Thank you Rebekah from COETAIL group and Paul, ASIJ’s Director of Teaching and Learning for taking the time to answer my tweet.   I liked both videos. Parents need visuals to see what educators are talking about when it comes to 21st Century Learning and School.  I will post these resources on our school blog.

I used to think that it was up to parents to figure out issues around technology on their own.  Who has the time to educate the parents anyway?

I don’t think this way anymore, especially after last week’s meeting.  Parents need a place where they can talk openly about their concerns and questions.  Often times they feel inadequate or way behind in their knowledge base about technology.   Some just give up and don’t get involved at all.  This isn’t a good place for parents to be.   Parents need to feel that they can guide their children, on and off-line.  Schools have the responsibility to offer that place (on and off-line) for parents.   Our kids will get the most out of technology when schools and parents work hand in hand.

Here are some ideas I have going forward.

*Parents really wanted to learn more about safe searching.  I need to brush up on this skill myself, and share that with the parents.

*Sharing resources with parents using Diigo.

*Teaching parents how to use Diigo.

*Session on Facebook

What are your recommendations?

About Naho Kikuchi

Elementary school counselor at The American School in Japan. Living and working in West Tokyo since 1997. Forever trying to figure out how to balance work, family and time for myself.
This entry was posted in 21st Century School, COETAIL, Technology, With Parents. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Empowering Parents

  1. Jamie says:

    Interesting and sobering facts presented in the videos, Naho. The bit in the second video referring to the high ideals that we have for technology in euducation and the ground that we have to cover in order to get there resonates with me. It truly is more about the approach to education and innovation behind that…when we make that change, then the technology will do its job. I agree that schools work best when good partnerships are formed with parents. We are just beginning to use blogging as a form of digital portfolio in the middle school. While next week is going to be a focus on digital citizenship for our students, now is the time to bring the parents on board as well. Your posting focused my attention on this and how important it is to get support systems at home lined up. Would like to see the Powerpoint and would also like to learn how to link PPT to blog posts. Thanks for your post.

  2. Great post! Really interesting as I just wrote a post about this last night! Thank you for the resources, I am presenting to the parents on the same things next month so this is going to really help lead into this.

    To embed your slideshow, upload it to http://www.slideshare.net then you can get an embed code to embed it in your post. If still can’t get it let me know and I’ll walk you through it, you two Jamie.

  3. Daryl says:

    I liked reading your post, Naho. It is funny how while we work in the same building, getting into a deeper conversation in the halls when our free time overlaps can sometimes be a challenge. However, connecting online I can get to some substantial material when checking out your blog.

    I am impressed that you are making connections with different entities in the school. After reading your blog I get a deeper understanding of what the parent community is facing as we, as a school, strive ahead towards 21st century learning. Parents, not being of the digital native generation(this includes me), face some challenges. I agree that connecting with parents via online resources and strengthening the online connections by creating online communities will help propel our school forward.

  4. Adam says:

    Hello Naho,

    We have found that technology information sessions and discussions are some of our most popular parent events as well. Especially in international education, I sometimes feel we are the source for a great deal of information beyond that which is needed for the students. Your post here helped me reconnect with that mission as well. I also really enjoyed the idea of your 21st-century learning video project and posting some of the responses in this venue. Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

