Being Visual

COETAIL Course 3:  Visual Literacy: Effective Communicators and Creators

Visual literacy is something I’ve never studied formally, but have always wanted to.  I enjoy scrapbooking, and doing needle point (please don’t ask when was the last time I did either ).  I love to leaf through magazines:  faithful subscriber to Donna Hay (love the colors here)  O magazine, and Better Homes and Gardens  for beautifully photographed pages of food, homes inside and out.   Recently, I have become a fan of Instagram.  This app makes me feel like a professional photographer. I am looking forward to transitioning from being a consumer to becoming a creator of  beautiful, simple, and clean visuals online.

For Week 1’s assignment,  I began by looking at the  school stuff which I share with my fellow elementary school counselor, Steve.   We have a static website,  and a blog.   We don’t need  both.  A blog is enough for everything we need to do.

So, let’s take a look at this blog.  Listed below are visual changes for the better. 

1.  Add the school logo,  show our  brand!

2.  Put a cluster map on the right side to track where in the world world wide readers are visiting  from.

3.  Different pages, to carry  information from the website:   Meet the Counselors page,  Books for Parents page (rather than displaying the covers of the books on a page, I would like to use Shelfari to put the books on the shelf),  Books for Students page, and  Presentations page with Slide Share.

4.  Google Analytics will be useful as well.  I wonder if I will be able to embed it since I wasn’t able to do it for this blog.  Many attempts were made, but I wasn’t successful.

Now I shall go make these changes.   Do you have any other suggestions?

One thing for sure is if we want others to visit our blog, we need to write more frequently.  Have you noticed that we haven’t written anything since September, 2011?!

About Naho Kikuchi

Elementary school counselor at The American School in Japan. Living and working in West Tokyo since 1997. Forever trying to figure out how to balance work, family and time for myself.
This entry was posted in COETAIL, School Counseling, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

