Over My Head with Remix

In today’s blog I am supposed to answer “How can you incorporate aspects of remix culture into your lessons?”

Remix culture in my guidance classes?  I am stumped.  The concept of  “remix” hasn’t been a part of my life one bit.  Needless to say, the readings for this week were very challenging.   Remix, Mash-Up, and Transmedia are totally out of my league and reality.  The closest I have come to these concepts are mash-ups in “Glee.”  (Yes, I have watched every episode.)

Kirby Ferguson’s videos on Everything is a Remix were helpful.  I appreciate the clean and structured look to his videos.  I now get that “everything is a remix.”  I just didn’t realize it before.

So, where do I go from here in my guidance classes?

I suppose this could be  similar and related  to teaching the concept of copyright to elementary school students.   I wrote about this in December, 2011.  I may not be an expert of remix culture, but I need to introduce the concepts on remix and mash-up to elementary school students to encourage their creativity.  I want to expose them to all kinds of possibilities.

I came across this blog The Daring Librarian when searching “teaching remix culture to kids” on Google.  This shows the progressions of different remix/ mash-up.  Please note that I will not show the original music video (not appropriate for elementary age students.)  But I will introduce them to Mike Tompkins.  What a talented guy!

*Teenage Dream & Just the Way You Are-Acapella cover by Mike Tompkins found on YouTube

About Naho Kikuchi

Elementary school counselor at The American School in Japan. Living and working in West Tokyo since 1997. Forever trying to figure out how to balance work, family and time for myself.
This entry was posted in COETAIL, Guidance Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

