Dream Academy

Course 4 Final Project

Daryl Imanishi and I worked together for the final project: Dream Academy.  We were both inspired by Sean’s project.  (I am constantly impressed with fellow COETAILers’ creativity, thoughtfulness, and ideas.  Really, for me, my ideal school would be all of us working at the same place.  Imagine that!)

Initially, when I started thinking about an ideal school, I was thinking about what kind of school I wanted to work at.  That is not the point of this project.  I also wanted to stay way from comparing my current school, and the ideal school.  That didn’t feel right.  Daryl and I also decided not to make a promotional video.  In the end, we thought about what kind of emotional experiences we would like for each student to experience in our ideal school.

Here is the link to the video.

For about 3 days I tried to embed the video, but couldn’t do it.  I googled how to embed slideboom into wordpress.  Followed the instruction there, but I couldn’t download the zip file that was needed.  Daryl sent me links as well as a video tutorial on how to do it.  That didn’t work either.  It’s frustrating when that happens, and I am at a place where I can’t figure it on my own.  I am sure there is a simple solution.

Enough of my complaints….

I am pleased with the way this video turned out.  Although we wondered if black and white was too stern looking, in the end we convinced ourselves that simple was better.  It has a clean feeling, rather than cluttered.

What do you think?

About Naho Kikuchi

Elementary school counselor at The American School in Japan. Living and working in West Tokyo since 1997. Forever trying to figure out how to balance work, family and time for myself.
This entry was posted in 21st Century School, COETAIL. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dream Academy

  1. 81jpayne says:

    Hi Naho

    I love the presentation! I like the use of black and white and I like how the words fade in – especially the ‘com’ to make ‘compassionate’.

    Also, I think I know why you weren’t able to embed your presentation. You’re like me and have a WordPress.com blog. Daryl on the other hand has a WordPress.org blog. This is when the WordPress software is installed on some Web server – in Daryl’s case, on the coetail.asia Web server.

    Basically, Flash and WordPress.com blogs don’t play friendly together.

    Have a great summer!

    Jamie Payne

  2. Naho, I love this idea. I really agree that COETAIL is full of really amazing teachers and colleagues. What an incredible school that would be. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

